[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Undefined variable: Array
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Undefined variable: Array
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 78: Undefined variable: Array
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace() [function.preg-replace.html]: The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 112: preg_replace() [function.preg-replace.html]: The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
Alasiya EvEmu • View topic - Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Read-Only Forum for General News concerning Alasiya EvE.
Guest read access allowed.

Server Development

Posts: 504

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:47 pm

Post Tue Sep 01, 2015 3:17 am

Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Last edited by Allan on Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Just noticed time designations were wrong. Changed 'ms' to 'us' to reflect accurate timing numbers.

Server Development

Posts: 236

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Post Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:04 am

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Well, little by little, we can get closer to those neat graphs CCP used to show ^_^
I mean - a little bit more detail, DB/file logging and viola - we have the data for the graphs!
Total wrecks, total shots fired, total amount of shit sold on market, total cash flow throughout the universe...that kind of things, you know.

Server Development

Posts: 504

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:47 pm

Post Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

yeah, i can add all that. wont be a big thing at all.
i just dont know the graphics part of how to make those neat graphs. :/
that profile system was written mainly just for me to time code execution for optimizations and the amount of new code that was running thru Process() (which all those shown do)

Server Development

Posts: 236

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Post Wed Sep 02, 2015 6:21 am

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Oh, don't bother. All we need from the server - write the calls into a separate DB table. Would be great if those calls would be filtered by dates, like 1 row = 1 day. Graph composing is a task for another program.

Server Development

Posts: 504

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:47 pm

Post Wed Sep 02, 2015 11:44 pm

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

i'll think of a way to cache them, and flush to db every so often or so.
im sure there is a way for Dot to make the graphs, but i have neither the time nor knowledge to do so.....and dont have the inclination to learn right now. ;p

well, since we're talking about it, what kinda info you think we should have? for now, i can put it on a status page, and it would be something else for ppl to look at. ;)

cheers

Server Development

Posts: 236

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 7:03 am

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

I think we can start with pretty standard data:
- Total shots fired (turrets. like - count the activations of turret modules)
- Total missiles launched (same for missiles)
- Total NPC ships killed (pretty straightforward here)
- Total Player ships killed (same here)
- Total amount of ore mined (just count the m3 of the ore that was mined off. Might be postponed, before we fix the miners)
- Total amount of bounties received
- Total amount of ISK spent in the market

Plus, if you want, you may include a bit of technical data (just for yourself), like memory/CPU load flow.

Most of those should be easy enough.
As for mechanics - to prevent overloading the DB with constant queries, i think that we can implement the temporary cache, that will store the data and upload it to DB in a single query once in, say, 15-30 minutes. That will keep the server load low and allow the daily-graph creation (so we can generate both overall, monthly, daily or even hourly graph reports. That could be neat). Timeframes are up to you - may it be 10 minutes or 1 hour - that's your call, mate.

If you want, i can compose the approximate DB template for those reports. The template that will give the graph generating that much needed flexibility i told about right above.

Server Development

Posts: 504

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:47 pm

Post Thu Sep 03, 2015 11:35 pm

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

yeah, that'd be great. get me a template, and i'll start coding it when i get time. (not soon, tho)
i'll update when i get something done.

Server Development

Posts: 236

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:08 pm

Post Fri Sep 04, 2015 10:40 am

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes

Well, i decided to not make it over-complicated, so it's just a simple 2-table skeleton.
First table is just 3 columns (ID, INT value and time stamp), second is informative one (description of ID's).
You only need to make server insert the ID and the value - time stamp will be pulled automatically.
Commited it to the repo.

Cheers!

Server Development

Posts: 504

Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:47 pm

Post Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:01 am

Re: Server Profiling - update with runtimes


Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron